4th – 5th June. 2018


4th -5th June, Lecture room, 6th Floor, Institute for Solid State Physics, the University of Tokyo, Kashiwa, 5-1-5, Kashiwanoha, Kashiwa, Chiba

Program and Abstracts

Here is the link



Oral presentation

(1) 20 minutes presentation
15 min. talk + 5 min. discussion
10min. 1st bell
15min. 2nd bell
20min. 3rd bell
(2) 25 minutes presentation
20 min. talk + 5 min. discussion
15min. 1st bell
20min. 2nd bell
25min. 3rd bell
(3) 30 minutes presentation
25 min. talk + 5 min. discussion
20min. 1st bell
25min. 2nd bell
30min. 3rd bell

Poster presentation

Poster sessions are scheduled at 13:00-14:30 on 4th June. Please display your poster on the designated board by 13:00. Your presentation number is written in the booklet of the program and abstracts. Please remove the poster by the end of the workshop. The remained poster will be disposed by our staff.

Information Map

Here is the link


Neutron Science Laboratory the University of Tokyo cooperates joint research program using triple-axis spectrometers (TAS) in JRR-3, high-resolution chopper (HRC) spectrometer in J-PARC, and cold neutron triple-axis (CTAX) spectrometer in HFIR in Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Among them CTAX has been operated under the program based on the agreement between the governments of US and Japan on cooperation research and development in science and technology in 1980, and the spectrometer has been crucial for TAS users in Japan particularly after the long shutdown of JRR-3. In addition, state-of-art inelastic spectrometers including HRC has been producing outstanding results, and the complimentary use with TAS is now popular. Furthermore in 2023 the upgrade of CTAX in large scale, the MANTA project, is planned, and the US-Japan cooperative program is getting more important. In this workshop researchers in the field of neutron scattering in US and Japan will discuss the present and future of neutron scattering research on condensed matter physics. The present statuses of CTAX and MANTA project will be reviewed by US researcher, and the future of US-Japan cooperative program will be discussed. Furthermore, future of spectrometers in JRR-3 will be also discussed.


June. 4 (Mon) June. 5 (Tue)
am Registration
Opening Session
Scientific session 1
Scientific session 3
noon Lunch Lunch
pm Poster Session
Scientific session 2
Scientific session 4
Closing Session
evening Banquet

Registration for Japanese participants

Send e-mail to including the following information:
------Copy and Paste to the e-mail body -------
1. 氏名(フリガナ):
2. 所属(○○大学大学院○○部○○科までご記入下さい):
3. 身分:
4. メールアドレス:
5. 発表方法:口頭 / ポスター / 無
6. 講演タイトル(発表ありの場合):
7. バンケット:出席 / 欠席
8. 宿泊予約手配:柏キャンパスゲストハウス / 不要
9. 宿泊日(手配をご希望の場合):
10. 旅費支援希望:有 / 無
Deadline for registration and title : 18th May 2018
Registration fee:
Banquet (4th June.):
Kashiwa-campus Guesthouse:2,500JPY/night
Mitsui Garden hotel Kashiwanoha
We have made reservation of 15 rooms at Kashiwa-campus guesthouse for the nights of 3 to 5 June. The number of the rooms is restricted, and all of the applicant may not be accommodated. We would kindly ask those who are not accommodated to find hotels nearby by yourself.
Payment of the banquet charge and the guesthouse charge can only be made with cash (JPY) at the registration desk.

Travel support for Japanese

Some amount of budget for travel support is prepared for Japanese participants.
Please ask T. Masuda more in detail.

Abstract submission

Prepare your abstract by using a template downloadable below. Convert your abstract to a PDF file with your name. (For example, takatsugumasuda.pdf.)
Please email to with a PDF file of your abstract.
Deadline 25th May 2018
Template download


Prof. Takatsugu Masuda
Ms. Junko Itoh


Here is the link


Yasuhiko Fujii
Yoshiya Uwatoko (ISSP, UTokyo)
Taku J. Sato (IMRAM, Tohoku Univ.)
Takatsugu Masuda (ISSP, UTokyo)
Mark Lumsden (ORNL)
Jaime Fernandez Baca (ORNL)
Zaliznyak Igor (BNL)
Matthias Frontzek (ORNL)
Tsuyoshi Kimura (UTokyo)
Hidekazu Tanaka (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Zenji Hiroi (ISSP, UTokyo)
Hiroshi Kageyama (Kyoto Univ.)
Satoru Nakatsuji (ISSP, UTokyo)
Keisuke Tomiyasu (Tohoku Univ.)
Maiko Kofu (J-PARC)
Masashi Hase (NIMS)
Chul-Ho Lee (AIST)
Hiroyuki Kimura (IMTAM, Tohoku Univ.)
Kazuaki Iwasa (Ibaraki Univ.)
Kenji Nakajima (J-PARC)
Taro Nakajima (RIKEN)
Koji Kaneko (JAEA)
Naoshi Ikeda (Okayama Univ.)


We would like to collect presentation files during workshop for publication of our booklet, NSL News Letter. Your cooperation would be greatly appreciated.

Organizing Committee

Takatsugu Masuda (ISSP, the University of Tokyo)
Hazuki Furukawa (Ochanomizu University)
Taku J Sato (IMRAM, Tohoku University)
Hiroshi Fukazawa (JAEA)
Mitsuhiro Shibayama (ISSP, the University of Tokyo)